Iowa High School Wrestling State Tournament 2011

Posted by puguh on Thursday, February 17, 2011

Iowa High School Wrestling State Tournament 2011. 2011 Iowa High School State Wrestling Tournament When: The Iowa state wrestling championships run Wednesday through Saturday (Feb.15th – 19th) at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Event schedule

Class 1A kicks off the tournament at 1 p.m. on Wednesday with the first round and first-round consolation matches. Class 2A gets underway at 6 p.m. while 3A waits until 9 a.m. Thursday for first-round action.

The 1A and 2A quarterfinals are later Thursday afternoon and evening with 3A quarterfinals first-thing Friday morning.

All semifinals and consolation semifinals are Friday evening.

Place matches begin at noon Saturday. The championship session opens with the Grand March at 6 p.m.


Tickets to the state tournament may be purchased online at, at participating high schools, or at the box office at Wells Fargo Arena. Tickets to Sessions 1-9 are general admission only.

Saturday night’s championship session is sold out.

Wells Fargo Arena does not accept checks. Tickets are $8. Any tickets purchased online are subject to a handling fee.

Iowa State Wrestling Preview

Area Class 3A qualifiers

Chase Lynn (103 pounds, Dubuque Senior, 24-8), Bryce Lynn (119, Senior, 32-7), Evan Smith (152, Dubuque Hempstead, 37-9), Nick Steger (125, Western Dubuque, 38-6), David Demmer (189, Western Dubuque, 32-6), Dakoda Elledge (285, Western Dubuque, 30-13)

Unbeatens in the 3A field

Eric DeVos (119, Waverly-Shell Rock) 42-0, Cory Clark (119, Southeast Polk) 41-0, John Meeks (130, Des Moines Roosevelt) 41-0, Zach Witte (145, Cedar Rapids Prairie) 34-0, Taylor Berger (160, Carroll), 36-0

Returning 3A champions

112: Tyler Willers (Pleasant Valley) won title at 103; 119: Eric DeVos (Waverly-Shell Rock), Cory Clark (Southeast Polk) won title at 112; 130: John Meeks (Des Moines Roosevelt) won title at 125; 145: Chad Ryan (Sioux City North) won title at 130; 152: Cody Caldwell (Waverly-Shell Rock) won title at 145; 285: Brodie Berrie (Bettendorf), Cody Krumwiede (Waverly-Shell Rock)

Area Class 2A qualifiers

Greg Vance (125 pounds, Dubuque Wahlert, 38-6), Shane Broderick (135, Wahlert, 33-8), Shiloh Snyder (135, Maquoketa, 35-7), Dakota Snyder (140, Maquoketa, 29-2)

Unbeatens in the 2A field

Tyler Bartels (103 pounds, Riceville-Saint Ansgar) 40-0, Dylan Peters (112, Denver-Tripoli) 46-0, Chase Flack (119, JSPCEG) 38-0, Topher Carton (119, Davenport Assumption) 39-0, Jacob Colon (125, Clear Lake) 32-0, Brody Grothus (145, Davenport Assumption) 45-0, Kyle Lux (160, South Tama) 36-0, Thomas Reyhons (160, Davenport Assumption) 12-0, Colon Vant Hof (171, Sioux Center) 35-0, Blaize Cabell (189, Independence) 41-0, Kane Seeley (215, Perry) 43-0, Devin Lemke (215, Iowa Falls-Alden) 23-0

Returning 2A champions

112: Peters (Denver-Tripoli) won title at 103; 130: Brandon Sorenson (Denver-Tripoli) won title at 119; 135: Jake Marlin (Creston/Orient-Macksburg) won title at 130; 145: Aaron Sorenson (Forest City); 285: Austin Blythe (Williamsburg)

Area Class 1A qualifier

Alex Steffen (285, Cascade) 27-17

Unbeatens in the 1A field

Jordan Bremer (103 pounds, Woodbury Central Moville) 41-0, Christopher Halblom (125, Alburnett) 40-0, Robert Walker (140, Martensdale-St. Marys) 42-0, Matt Finch (145, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn) 29-0, Dallas Houchins (152, Interstate 35 Truro) 32-0, Dalton Peterson (189, Woodbine) 47-0, Kyle Soderblom (189, Lynnville-Sully) 45-0, Nate Howard (215, Graettinger-Terril) 42-0, Trent Baker (215, Westwood Sloan) 40-0, Brendan Ter Wee (West Lyon Inwood) 34-0, Caleb White (285, Tri-Center Neola) 33-0

Returning 1A champions

103: Bremer (Woodbury Central Moville); 119: Tyler Shulista (Alburnett) title won at 112; 125: Halblom (Alburnett) title won at 119; 135: Logan Mulnix (North Linn) won title at 125; 140: Walker (Martensdale-St. Marys)

State Tournament Brackets:

Class 3A

* Brackets

Class 2A

* Brackets

Class 3A

* Brackets

State Tournament Schedule – Brackets

The Predicament – State Tournament News/Results

Iowa High School Athletic Association – Results & Info


Related Posts by Categories